List of Indian Flagbearers at Summer Olympics (1920 – 2024)

Indian Flagbearers at Summer Olympics
Indian Flagbearers at Summer Olympics

The Olympic Games are more than just a global sporting event; they are a celebration of unity, diversity, and the indomitable spirit of competition. Every four years, athletes from around the world gather to compete, representing the pinnacle of athletic achievement in their respective sports. A significant honour bestowed upon an athlete from each participating country is the role of flagbearer during the opening ceremony. This role is not only prestigious but also symbolic, representing the athlete’s country, their teammates, and the values of the Olympic movement. India, a nation with a rich sporting history and a growing presence on the Olympic stage, has had its athletes serve as flagbearers since 1920. This article explores the tradition of flagbearers and lists the Indian athletes who have had the honour of carrying the national flag at the Summer Olympics from 1920 through 2024.

Also Read:

What is a Flagbearer?

In the context of the Olympic Games, a flagbearer is an athlete who leads their country’s delegation during the opening and sometimes closing ceremonies, carrying the national flag. This position is highly prestigious and is often awarded to athletes who have shown exceptional skill, sportsmanship, and dedication to their sport. The choice of a flagbearer can also reflect a country’s values, achievements, and aspirations in the world of sports. Being selected as a flagbearer is not only a personal honour for the athletes but also a moment of immense pride for their countrymen and women.

List of Indian Flagbearers at Summer Olympics (1920 – 2024)

#Event YearFlag BearerSport
11920Purma BannerjeeAthletics
21932Lal Shah BhokhariField hockey
31936Dhyan ChandField hockey
41948Talimeran AoFootball
51952Balbir Singh, Sr.Field hockey
61956Balbir Singh, Sr.Field hockey
71964Gurbachan Singh RandhawaAthletics
81972Desmond Neville Devine JonesBoxing
91984Zafar IqbalField hockey
101988Kartar SinghWrestling
111992Shiny Abraham-WilsonAthletics
121996Pargat SinghField hockey
132000Leander PaesTennis
142004Anju Bobby GeorgeAthletics
152008Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreShooting
162012Sushil KumarWrestling
172016Abhinav BindraShooting
182020Mary Kom & Manpreet SinghBoxing & Hockey
192024Sharath KamalTable Tennis

As we look forward to future Olympics, including the 2024 Paris Games, the athletes who will have the honour of bearing the flag will undoubtedly carry with them the hopes and dreams of a billion people. The role of a flagbearer is a testament to the hard work, dedication, and spirit of sportsmanship that defines the Olympic journey. It is a reminder that beyond the medals and accolades, the true essence of the Olympics lies in the celebration of unity, diversity, and the relentless pursuit of excellence.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *